It’s one week until NaNoWriMo kicks off for this year. For those who don’t know, November 1-30 is National Novel Writing Month, and hundreds of thousands of people will attempt to write a 50.000 word novel in the thirty days allowed. This year, I will be one of them. Now, traditionally, I do pretty well with writing deadlines, but that said, I’ve never attempted to write that much in that short a time. Add to that that I work full time, plus I am trying to get my pet sitting business off the ground, it will be a challenge to carve out the time I need to do this. I am determined to do it, if only to prove to myself that I can.   Image  As I am writing this, I realize that I only have one week to finish up the preparations for this challenge. There is so much left to do. I still have to determine which story it is I wish to tell in this novel. I have it narrowed down to three potential stories. Closer to the time I start writing, I can probably say for sure which it will be, but I don’t know yet. All of them appeal to me in one way or another. I must decide soon, so I can complete the rest of the research I need to do, make an outline, and do the various and sundry other things writers do before they start to write. I am nervous because time draws short. 

I can do this, can’t I? I mean, 50,000 words isn’t that much, is it? Wish me luck, and if I don’t get back to you before, I’ll see you on the other side of this adventure. 

